Lexington and Concorde, Wish You Were Here!

Quite a while back, I read an outstanding book by Jeff Shaara called “Rise to Rebellion.”  It is a fictional account of the years leading up to the War for Independence; the book ends on July 4th, 1776.
I learned more about the birth of my country than I ever did in school.  I highly recommend it.

When I read this article:  http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2012/04/237_year_anniversary_of_the_shot_heard_round_the_world.html  I was reminded of that great book and all the things I learned in it.

But what I would like to draw your attention to (besides the anniversary of the battle of Lexington and Concorde) coincides a little with our topic of time travel.

What must it be like to actually watch the event unfold?  Even in this article, it is recognized that nobody knows, per se, who fired the first shot, the shot heard ’round the world.  Frankly, I have a feeling that those at the time knew full well who fired the first shot, but the truth was likely muddied for politically expedient purposes and has since been lost to time.  But that’s a topic for a different day.

As you read this article (or Shaara’s book for that matter) try to imagine yourself as a time traveler sent back to investigate and learn just how did our country get its start?  Could that also be a secondary mission requirement of any TT’er?  To learn and report facts as they happen?  Facts lost to history?  What an opportunity to learn!

Leave a Reply

