No End to the Things We Can Live Without

Understanding that the change in the status quo will be coming soon, what will life look like during and on the other side of such a change?  This question inevitably leads to fear, fear of the unknown.  I have found preparing for this coming change to be extremely important for a couple of reasons:  First of all, preparing provides for a source of food, water and other supplies that will obviously be needed when it’s impossible or impractical to go to the store.  Just in time supply chain management is great at reducing costs, but it DOES have its downside.  Second, and I believe that this should not be underestimated:  Preparing, having food and water stored, having a plan B, etc is incredibly calming.  Knowing you have a store of food and water, light and the ability to cook/create heat, I have found, relieves the stress of knowing what’s coming.  I highly recommend setting aside food and water, maybe just a little at first.  But the important thing is to get started.  I got started simply by buying a couple extra cans of soup and charcoal every time I went to the store…I was already there and the marginal cost of an extra can of soup ($2) and an extra bag of charcoal ($5) was a pittance.  It really can be just that simple.

So when I ran across this article,  “Life After Television” (http://spectator.org/archives/2012/04/19/life-after-television), I thought it was going to be about a possible future collapse and the loss of mass communication.  I was wrong.  It was really just about a man who decided that he was giving up TV for lent and never went back.  I too have had similar thoughts.  Television, while it has never been about entertainment (rather, it is a means to present advertising interspersed with entertainment), the balance I think has swung to too much advertising where no matter what channel I go to, I can bet there will be a commercial playing rather than “Two and a Half Men”, etc.  I really do think networks have jumped the shark on this and I am getting profoundly sick of it. 
Just the other night, I watched a full-length feature film on my television, streamed from the internet, just as John predicted 12 years ago for us.

 In 2000, John said, “

Again, entertainment is less centralized. There are “movies” and “TV” but everything is distributed over the net and more people produce their own “shows”.”
Quite a lucky guess, wouldn’t you say? 
Considering how easy watching that movie on line was, I have a feeling that I will be switching more and more away from regular television programming and seeking alternate venues for entertainment.  My current schedule as it is precludes me from watching television as I used to.  Just how difficult would it be to simply cancel my cable subscription once and for all?  The author said he doesn’t miss it one bit, and I tend to believe him… 

I wonder, after the event, what other things will we learn were superfluous?
Leave a Reply

